In Need of a T1D best friend :)

Hi, I’m Caitlin. I’m 19 years old, and I have been a T1D for 17 of those years. I have gone through many bouts of burn out, but not like recently. I’m a freshman in college majoring in nursing, and I also have a part time job at a restaurant. I spend many hours studying and working so many times my diabetes gets put on the back burner. Just yesterday I got out of the hospital because I was in DKA for the first time since I’ve been diagnosed. It was scary and I really don’t want it to happen again. Friends and family don’t really understand what having diabetes is like so talking to them doesn’t exactly help. I’m really looking for someone who can help me better myself, and vice versa.

1 Like

Hey there Caitlin. My name is Cat. I hear ya on friends and family not understanding. I really do. It absolutely stinks. I go through it everyday, with my roommates and my mother. Like this morning my mum bought me a doughnut!!! Absolutely the worse thing ever. I’ve been a t1d for about 21 years. I was also diagnosed 1 month before going off to college, which then made everything harder. I’ve also been in DKA. I agree it is some scary stuff!!!

Hi Caitlin,
I totally understand the struggle. I’m a full time college student who works also and it can be so hard to make diabetes a priority. Check out the College Diabetes Network’s website. They have awesome resources for college students with diabetes.
Here’s a link to their burnout page: https://collegediabetesnetwork.org/content/burnout
Aaaaand here’s another link to their campus chapters page: https://collegediabetesnetwork.org/content/campus-chapters
They have chapters all over the U.S. at different colleges. These chapters provide a good way for college students with diabetes to get together and talk about what it’s like to have diabetes in college. I hope this helps!