Looking of friends with T1D

Hey everyone,

I’m Michelle and I am a college student at University of South Florida (Go Bulls!) and have never had a friend with T1D. I have had it since I was a year and a half (I am 27 now). I am really just looking for someone (be nice if they were near me) to talk to and basically just gab about life with T1D as an adult.

Thanks,

Michelle

Hey, Michelle,

I’m not able to offer what you asked for, but we live in St. Pete, and my 8-yr-old daughter was Dx’d a year and a half ago. I don’t suppose you’d be interested in being an adult perspective for me, a role model for her, or maybe even babysitting? Any of those would be awesome for us.

No worries if not. It’s just nice to see someone local, so I figured it was worth a try!

Susan

I would be more than happy to. I’m actually in the Ellenton area, which is right over the Skyway, so it’s not a far hike but I’d love to talk with both of you.

Michelle

That’s great, thank you! I just sent a PM: we’re just on the other side of the Skyway from you, so not too bad. :slight_smile:

Hello!
I am a student of pharmacology and patient of diabetes type1 from 12 years.
I would like to share and discuss diabetes things!

jayendra

Michelle,

I may or may not be the person with whom you’d want to talk about diabetes as I’m quite a bit oder; I’m now in my 60th year trying to figure out T1 - and doing quite well. My wife and I live near you, on the south side of Bradenton. Message me whenever, ask anything.

And yes, Go Bulls - I spent most of today quite near you at our daughter’s cutting up a storm downed oak tree - our daughter is also at USF. She could also be someone to talk with about T1; she has worked trauma medicine for 25 years and currently works ER.

Hallo Michele,