Did anyone participate in JDRF's Walk to Cure Diabetes this year, especially in Chicago?

I did the JDRF walk today, I have done it before, and I really enjoy it.  There are so many emotions involved, but mostly I feel pride.  Unfortunately this year, I walked alone.   At first it didn't bother me, I focused on my walk, but after awhile the sound of laughter and genuine camaraderie made me feel a little lonely.  The excitement and energy grows during the event and I had no one to share it with.  Even so, I wouldn't have changed anything and not participated.  Now I am second-guessing myself.  Should I have done more to "beg" someone to come along (not my style)?  I'm not good at meeting other diabetics like me.  Maybe Juvenation is a good opportunity for diabetics to come together. 

Please tell me your experiences if you have done thewalk or share your opinions/ideas.

went to one today at belmont state park my first one really fun cant wait to design my t-shirt

this was my first year since i was diagnosed 15years ago. my moms always been a single parent, so she didn't have the time or energy to take my big brother and me when i was younger, she did help out with the clothesline for a bit and that kinda stuff though, and then when i gradded i either missed the date for it, or was too busy myself. but i did it this year with one of my roomies, my brother and his girlfriend came and my mom and my step-dad did as well. i managed to raise $230. we're gonna do it again next year.

i am participating in one in south jersey in about 2 weeks.  this will be my 2nd year participating. 

i did a diabetes walk today in Busse Woods in Schaumburg. i saw shannon there =) it was awesome!!!!

[quote user="Batts"]