Omni pod location related to High BG

Hi my daughter (14 yr) was recently diagnosed (Jun '20) as T1. I think overall we are doing well. She has the Dexcom g6 & omnipod dash. Both have positive & negatives. My question is: does anyone have high blood sugar issues when they have the pod on their thigh? Both times we had an issue. I know that the placement is good, we just cannot get the levels down. We are trying to change the location to prevent scar tissue buildup. Does anyone have a suggestion?
Thank you. It is much appreciated.

here are the best spots for a injection, pump infusions set, or Pod.

good luck

infusion sites

FWIW, my daughter didn’t get good results there, either, so she stopped trying. She still injects there, if the pump’s off for whatever reason, but unfortunately it does limit the amount of real estate she rotates through on a regular basis.

I don’t want to discourage your efforts but I’ve been pumping for 25 years and took injections for 30+ before that. I primarily use my abdomen for my (TSLIM) infusion sets - rarely but occasionally other spots; for my Dexcom I alternate been abdomen, thigh and upper arm.
I’m not saying I don’t occasionally hit some scar tissue but hopefully your daughter has a long time to go before she needs to worry too much about that. As you can see from the diagram @joe provided there are lots of options she can choose from to find which work best.

Thank you for help. I have read a lot of your post that has a lot of helpful information. It is much appreciated.

1 Like