Using Omnipod

Hi everyone. I’ve recently started using an insulin pump called Omnipod. I’m still fairly new at this I only started wearing them about 4 months ago, but I was needing some advise from other 'podders." Have any of you ever had trouble using infusion sites, such as the back of your arm or your leg? For example I can use one of my arms and it works perfectly but when I switch to the other side I experience blood sugar spikes and I either have to take more insulin to counteract the rising BG or switch the pod all together. Origninally I used a Medtronic insulin pump and did so for 12 years before switching because Medtronic was no longer working for me. Any body got any soultions or tips when using Omnipod, such as different infusion sites because right now I’m only able to use my stomach and lower back (sometimes). I would really apprecaite any advise you have to give. Thank you.

Hi, the sites that I use are:
the top of both my left and right arms
the top of both my legs at the side
I tend to move my pod in a square shape abound my body so that the last site I used can heal properly I hope this helped.

Hi Chelsea @cnmcwhirt, something you should keep in mind when placing a pump or infusion site or injecting insulin is activity.
An extremity, such as arm or leg, will tend to absorb and use insulin at enhanced rates when active. For instance a runner wouldn’t place a pump or infusion cannula on a leg. As far as one arm working better than the other, does one arm get more activity than the other?

1 Like