New to Type 1...looking for support for my family

Hi Everyone...

I am a bit new to this whole thing...sort of.  My son was just diagnosed in January of 2009...so almost a year ago.  I was a very bizarre set of circumstances.  He was not even 2 yet and he just started acting strange.  First indicator was the extreme thirst and urination...this went on for about a week.  His diapers would just blow out.  I mentioned to my husband that I was a bit concerned as I knew those were symptoms of Diabetes.  I did some research online which only added to my concern.  Then he really stated acting strangely...he was lethargic (he is usually very active) and threw up two time.  My son is NOT an vomiter...LOL.  My husband was even more concerned than I was as he had a niece that was diagnosed at the same age as my son (she is 20 now) and he saw a LOT of similarities between how our son was acting.  It was still really strange because he wasn't really acting "sick" he was just a bit off.  I had taken him to daycare that day and told them to keep an eye on him and let me know if he acts strangely.  They called me a few hours later and told me that he was just laying down and being very lethargic.  So I immediately left work and brought him to the pediatrician.  They knew I was coming in and we got a urine sample while I was there and sure enough he was throwing VERY LARGE amounts of sugar in his urine.  They told us to go straight to the ER and that we would probably be there for a few days.  I was in shock I think and was thinking I am sure this is a mistake and that he will be fine.  I think I actually asked the DR.  Does this mean he is Diabetic? He said to me probably, but the hospital would run tests and tell me for sure...and they did.