My 11 year old has Type 1... just found out Monday

Hi All,

I am very new to this… I knew almost nothing about diabetes when my 11 year old son was rushed to the ER on Monday with his blood sugar through the roof… I have since become much more knowledgeable about the subject. Today is the first day I haven’t cried about this. I have felt extremely overwhelmed in the last few days. We were kind of blindsided by this because no one in our immediate family has it. I knew some things about Type 2 and apparently I was completely clueless about Type 1. Besides having Type 1 Diabetes he is very healthy. Our son is now out of the hospital, he was released Weds. I really don’t feel like I am strong enough to cope with this, but then I realized what choice do I have. I have to be strong for my son. Now is not the time to fall apart. Well, thank you for listening and I am glad to be a member here.
-Dee.

Hi @dmc81076,

You are right you do have to be strong for your son. You will get through this as a family. I was diagnosed with T1D as an adult (25) I had no knowledge about type 1 other than my mom’s sister. But, I all I really knew was that she would need sugar if she went low.

I am glad today was the day you chose to find us! And also on the day you haven’t cried about it either! We are all here and going through the same feelings as you and hopefully, you will gain some comfort in that.

JDRF has some great resources for newly diagnosed families, I sorted them out in the NEWLY DIAGNOSED GROUP HERE.

You can also find your local JDRF chapter by going to this link and typing in your zip code.

If you need any help around the site feel free to contact me anytime by typing in @gina on any of your posts or going directly to my profile and sending me an inbox message!

Hang in there. Be Strong. We are here to help!!