Needle trouble

OK, so I’m relatively new to the Diabetes game (diagnosed 1-29-15)
Sometimes (a few times a week) I try to inject myself and I struggle pushing down on either types of my insulin pens. I just pull the pen out get a new needle and that seems to work. Does anyone know what causes this? I always use a new needle on my pens in case someone is wondering that.
Thanks!

Well first of all: Welcome to the T1D club!!! So, it’s been a while since I’ve taken injections (I’m currently on an insulin pump) but I took injections for 14 years before moving to the pump. Could it possibly be a reflex of not wanting to take the injection (I’ve had diabetes for 29 years and I still sometimes have a bit of a hesitation and have to take a deep breath before doing a site change for my pump or testing my bg (not too often, but every once in a while)).
Or, how often are you rotating injection sites? Are you injecting in the same general area, not rotating can callous the skin and eventually lead to something called lipohypertrophy which is hardened/extra fat layer from injections, but it usually takes a bit of time for that to happen. There’s also scar tissue underneath the skin that can build up, all of these affect insulin absorption and would probably make it hard to push a needle through. But you’re very new to this, so these aren’t very likely unless you’ve been doing the same spot for the entire time.
Or perhaps it’s a manufacturing problem with the type of needle you use? Give you’re doctor/diabetes educator a call and see if they’ve heard of any recalls or problems of the brand you use. I did notice when I used the pen that the needles tended to be thinner and a little flimsy compared to typical syringes.
Isn’t this fun? It’s like we’re detectives hunting for a culprit!
Anyways, good luck in your search!