I Need a Pump. But I Don't Know Where to Begin!

Hi there! I’ve been a diabetic for 46 years, and I’m just now deciding to use a pump. (I know: Welcome to the 21st Century.) I’m a bit nervous about switching, but I need to make the transition as my blood sugars have been bouncing all over the place in the last year or so.

Anyway, is there a pump with CGM capabilities I should start with? I’m a bit tech illiterate, so the simpler, the better. What do you recommend?

Also, after the pump is acquired, what are the supplies I need to have refilled/restocked? Where do you get the insulin for the pump?

Any help you can provide would be greatly appreciated! Happy holidays, everyone!

1 Like

Hi @JTwithJD. It’s great to hear you are considering upgrading to a pump! When people start thinking about it they probably broach the epic with their endo first but you’ll find lots of help here. I use Tandem’s T-Slim pump which works with Dexcom’s CGM to adjust for high and low glucose levels using a program called Control IQ. There is another program called Basal IQ that adjusts for lows only. From what I’ve seen on this forum is say most people use CIQ but if you want to look into them discuss the details and benefits of each with your doctor. If you use CIQ right now there is no way to go back to BIQ. I’ve heard a few regrets about that.
Medtronic makes s pump with its own CGM. There are lots of opinions about one vs the other here on the forum and I don’t want to influence you so I encourage you research for yourself - here and elsewhere - what user opinions are. I used to use Minimed (Medtronic) pumps but switched to Tandem before trying Medtronic’s CGM. The pump itself was great but I liked Tandem’s slimmer profile. I’m very happy with the Dexcom CGM and how it works with my Tandem pump to adjust, but that still relies on the user having good settings in place (your doctor will help you with that) and inputting carbs, etc.