Freestyle Libre- won't stay on

Is there some way to keep the Libre on? My son gave up on it because it kept falling off-in the shower, etc. Thanks!

Hi. There’s a discussion titled Freestyle Libre - Allergic Reaction - #14 by Michigan2012 - Technology & Management - JDRF TypeOneNation Community Forum. It’s a little off topic but if you scroll through the responses, people found some creative solutions that helped keep theirs in place.

1 Like

thank you! I’ll look into that.

Jemma,
I am very new to the cgm but i have been using Skin Tac liquid. So I place the sensor and then put the Skin Tac liquid around the sensor sticker. Then I use a patch with a hole cut out for the sensor. I have only tried one kind so far and it is called “fixic patches” I found on Amazon. The edges will fray a little over time but I get at least 2 weeks of use from one placement. The Skin Tac is extremely sticky and holds the patches on like glue. Hasn’t irritated my skin either. Although I found removing them it is necessary to get the Skin Tac remover. Without it the patches stick too well!

1 Like

thanks very much, I’ll look into these products.

I use the Skin Tac wipes, wiping them on the site, let dry and apply the sensor. No more loose sensors. And quite convenient. Time to remove it…baby oil works quite well.

1 Like

thank you, that’s very helpful.

I also use skin tac which also comes in a bottle that lasts for years.

2 Likes

thanks very much, will try that

Have been using CGM since it was first developed. I am T1D x 61 years. Very physically active. Also work in medicine.
Medical grade adhesive (Hypafix tape) works well over the sensor. I cut it into and oval and cover the sensor/transmitter. Don’t have to use any skin tack or pre tape so long as ski is dry. Will not come off in shower or with perspiration. If it does you can always reinforce it.
Tape is usually not irritating to skin.

1 Like

thanks so much, where would I buy this tape?