Effect On Relationships

Hello my dudes. Im 19 and have never really had a serious relationship with a girl, but could potentially be in one soon. So I was just wondering how does being diabetic effect the day to day things in a relationship? Does it add extra strain or challenges to dating?

1 Like

@dunnwitht1

okay so congratulations - I am guessing thereā€™s somebody new in your life?

t1 adds the regular amount of extra to a job, a relationship, school, getting sick, travel, and I guess everything else.

so I am a rank amateur at relationships but i can tell you that open honest communications have always worked better for me. If you are doing what you do, and saying what you say, and another person doesnā€™t like itā€¦ in my opinionā€¦ itā€™s better than engineering something to say or acting differently than how you would act in order for a person to like you.

if you are honest about yourself then 2 things can happen, they hate you and go away, or like you and hang around. the same thing works in reverse, and so if she is open and honest with you and you STILL like her, sheā€™s a keeper.

so about having diabetes, i guess it matters more about how you feel about it, do you hide it? are you open about it? are you embarrassed by it? I was embarrassed for a long time. it lead to me being less than honest, and then things generally didnā€™t work out. I am also a huge caretaker and problem solver, but that is a story for another day.

low blood sugar can make me cranky, so I watch my tongue when I know I am low. lows also gives me huge adrenalin rushes, making ā€œintimate timeā€ difficult, but itā€™s nothing 15 minutes and juice canā€™t fix.

this would work better if you spilled: what are you most worried about?

1 Like