Billing Issues with Medtronic

Hello! My name is Viniti, I am 23yo, and I have been a T1D for the last 14 yrs. I recently got an insulin pump and NOW I am experiencing issues with my insurance. I was told when I first spoke with Medtronic that since my deductible was $1500, I would only have to pay that and my supplies would be covered for the rest of the year. I paid $750 dollars upfront and had them ship me everything. Now, I am receiving calls stating that I owe $1900 to Medtronic and that I was misquoted previously. Every time I call my insurance I get a different answer and every time I call Medtronic I get told just to get on a payment plan and it’ll be fine. Medtronic told me my insurance is wrong, and my insurance has told that Medtronic is wrong.

I don’t know what to do. I feel like I’ve been hoodwinked and now I’m concerned about the financial feasibility of my insulin pump. What can I do? I’m a graduate student in an MS program at ASU, and I have a fixed income right now.

Insurance is a nightmare. I would first call you carrier and ask if the claim has been processed. You should receive an EOB ()Explanation of Benefits). This will show how the claim was processed - in network, covered, deductible applied. If it is an in network provider, you should receive a PPPO )preferred provider) discount which Medtronic cannot balance bill you for. Most insurance carriers require a pump to be pre approved for coverage for an insulin pump. You can also request a case manager nurse from your insurance carrier. Most insurance companies have a nurses line and you can start the process of having a case manager assigned that way. The one for my son has provided exceptional care and assistance with the red tape regarding the insurance company. I am sorry you are going through this headache. It is difficult enough dealing daily with diabetes and the insurance adding to that stress is extremely unfortunate.
Cynthia