Advice please: cannula for Animas pump does not stay inserted in site for 3 days

Hello,

I'm relatively new to Juvenation - (been on this website for several days now).....and I am also relatively new to using the insulin pump - the Animas ping. I've been on the ping since July - and every time I inject a new cannula in - no matter how much I try to ensure it is securely inject in - it never sticks on and stays in for the 3 full days before I have to change the site again....it only stays in for about 1 or 1 1/2 days, then falls out of my stomach - forcing me to have to change the site again with another inset. This is a huge waste of time and I'm afraid in the future - cost - for me because the insets are precious - and i can only bill my health insurance every 3 months to get more supplies - so every time I am worried I will run out of insets before my insurance will cover this and I will have to pay for the supplies out of pockets and they are incredibly expensive.....

Please let me know if anyone else is having this issue or advice on what to do to resolve this. I use the shortest needle and it is the straight inset.

Thanks!

I use a different type of pump but had a few general things to try:

Do you use the skin prep pads?  They really help the adhesive stick to skin.  

Some people also use medical tape around the site, especially if you swim or take baths.

You really should check in with a diabetes educator or doctor and see if they can recommend a better set.  Different ones work for different body types and locations.  

You should also call whichever company provides your infusion sets.  You may have gotten a bad box of supplies and they should be willing to send you a replacement.

Once you find a solution, let us know.  -Jenna

Is it that the cannula itself is popping out or that the adhesive loses its stickiness?