Wishing I had an Insulin Pump:)

Hi! I am new to Juvenation.  I have been type 1 since I was 10.  I have tried two different insulin pumps and neither one worked for me.  I had serious reactions to the infusion sets.......like I couldn't keep them in for more than a day at a time without developing a hard lump under my skin and a very itchy site.  I am so dissappointed about not being able to wear a pump.  I am on an insulin carb ratio and I inject whenever I eat.....I was just wondering if there is anyone else out there in the same position and if there is anything else out there to try????

ME TOO! I'm so glad to come across you! Definitely send me a message.

I'm on Lantus and novolog and have good control, but doctors and other T1's make me feel irresponsible for not using the pump even though it didn't work for me. I also wonder and worry whether my control could be any better if I could use the pump.

I am on lantus and apidra.  Don't feel irresponsible.....it's your choice.  When I was on the pump, I was in pretty bad shape due to the reactions to it.  I have always been up and down with my blood sugars.  EVERYTHING affects me.....stress is a biggy!!  If you go on the pump again, control might not be best.  If you are in good control now....stay with what you are doing!!!  When I first started the pump, it was all good, but then I developed problems.....bad reactions! 

[quote user="Sarah"]

I'm on Lantus and novolog and have good control, but doctors and other T1's make me feel irresponsible for not using the pump even though it didn't work for me. I also wonder and worry whether my control could be any better if I could use the pump.

[/quote]