What's the best way to deal with LADA, as a young adult

Hey guys I’m new to this. I’m 23 and have been diagnosed with Type 1.5. I’m one of the youngestate people to have LADA. It is normally in adults 30+. I have lost my daily life. It has brought on 5 shots a day, neuropathyou in my legs and feet, DKA, loss of energy, and a horrible immune system. I real,you don’t know how to deal with it.I get depressed, stressed, and am very emotional about everything. Please someone help!!!

I feel your pain; I was diagnosed with type 1 at 24, after a trip to the ER in DKA just over a year ago the ICU doctors came to me and said, you have diabetes, we think its type 1 but we’ll run a few more tests and get back to you. Six weeks later I still didn’t have any results; just my insulin and my sliding scale. It was quite the blow and in those weeks after I was released from the hospital I seriously doubted my ability to deal with all the demands of my life and the demands of the diagnosis.

The first piece of advice I will give at this point is to take 20 minutes a day to read about diabetes; knowing the disease and how to manage it will help you a lot with dealing with your new normal. I will recommend the book, Think Like a Pancreas by Gary Scheiner; this book was my bible after I was sent home with practically no information or resources on managing diabetes. Unfortunately, whether you choose to control your diabetes or not, you will always have it and that fact is what makes managing a chronic disease feel like such a pointless effort at times. Just remember that the turmoil is worth it because you are worth it.

In regards to the daily grind, carve away some extra time each day for meal planning, testing, calculations and insulin injections; as you settle into the routine it will take you less and less time to complete these tasks and before long it will be second nature.