Type 1 Diabetic Nursing Student looking for Babysitting Job

Hi, my name is Emily. I'm 20 years old and I've been a type 1 diabetic for five years. I'm currently on the Minimed insulin pump (in purple!) but I have over four years of experience with insulin injections. I'm from Cincinnati, Ohio and I'm going to be a junior in the Ohio State University Nursing program.

I've heard from parents with diabetic children that getting a good babysitter can be a challenge because few people understand everything diabetes-related. I'm looking to help out any parents in the Cincinnati or Columbus area who are in need of a reliable babysitter who knows everything about diabetes.

If you're interested, please e-mail me at viall.6@buckeyemail.osu.edu and I can tell you a little bit more about myself!

Emily

If only were in Cincinanati or Coumbus..... I guess Dover, DE is too far to commute, huh?

I am closer than Dover.......how is Sharpsville, PA?  I'm sure too far also, but what a great service you will be providing!  Good luck to you.......sorry you are not closer!

Your post almost made me want to move to Ohio.  You are so sweet to offer your services.  You are right it is difficult to find someone to take care of a child with diabetes for more than one or two hours.  I think it will also be cool for the kid you do babysit because you will be just like them!

-Meg (Emmies mom, diagnosed 10/29/09 at age 5)

Thank you all for the well wishes! I hope you find a good babysitter/nanny in your area!

Emily

That is such a great way to help parents with kids with type 1!

Yeah, that's not a bad idea.

I'm in the CA central valley if anyone there needs one.  I've been T1 Since 2001, and was a camp counselor.