Type 1 Diabetes and Gastrointestinal Upset

Hello everyone!

I am studying nutrition in Arizona, and I am a type 1 diabetic.  It's often embarrassing to admit, but I have frequent gastrointestinal upset (abdominal pain after eating, frequent urges to have a bowel movement - as if us diabetics don't already have to run to go pee enough!, loose stools, flatulence, and reflux-type symptoms).

How many other people out there have these types of problems?  I have been reading research done on the subject, and some studies say that up to 50% of type 1 diabetics complain of these symptoms.  It could be caused by another set of hormones/enzymes that are relased from the pancreas other than insulin.  These are called exocrine pancreatic enzymes and they help us digest our food.  The problem also could be exacerbated by bacterial overgrowth in the intestines or intestinal neuropathy (if you have poor glucose control).

Anyway, if I get enough responses to this I hope that it will help me with working on my future academic research goals.  I would love to do research on this subject and see if I can raise awareness.  It is pretty dangerous to simply suffer through these gastrointestinal problems, since the nutritional and medical side effects that can become of it are fairly daunting.

Thanks!

MaDEvans

I have it sometimes.  I have been diabetic for 31 years and have great control.  I was hospitalized twice for severe stomach upset.  They weren't sure if it was b/c of my diabetes, though.

Hey Christy, thanks for the response.

So does the problem seem to only come on severely at specific times, or does your problem seem to affect you more frequently, like every day?  week?  month?

MDE