Wondering About Celiac Disease

I know that someone with T1 diabetes is more likely to have Celiac Disease (among other things), and I know that it's in my family.  I have one cousin that's diagnosed (a very severe case that kept him very sick most of his childhood), and another who has all the classic symptoms (but has never bothered to go to a doctor about it).

I'm definitely not a "classic" Celiac (nowhere near underweight!), but I was complaining about how sometimes my reaction to carbs is unpredictable and chalking it up to the "WTF" qualities of T1, and someone just mentioned the possibility of Celiac disease perhaps affecting carb absorption.  It doesn't seem like it would do so sporadically, but I'm no expert on Celiac disease and ESPECIALLY no expert on how it could affect diabetes management.  Since I know there are several people on here with CD, I thought I'd ask if you know anything about this theory.

As far as symptoms go, I do have "gastric upsets" (bloating, loose stool as often as not, but not really severe), but haven't really tied them to increased consumption of gluten or anything like that.  Who knows if they mean anything, but I do have some of little uncommon or "vague" symptoms I've seen mentioned along with Celiac disease, like depression (I'm dysthymic, meaning I have chronic mild depression), irritability, and skin problems (really sensitive and kind of prone to rashes).

I'll certainly mention it the next time I visit my endo.  It's something we talked about on my first appointment, while looking at family medical history, but I really wasn't very concerned about it and she wasn't worried enough to explore that over the known diabetes and a possible thyroid issue (which turned out to be fine). 

My friend with T1 was diagnosed with Celiac's last Christmas, he couldn't keep his blood sugars up if his life depended on it.  Right before he got diagnosed he wasn't taking any insulin at all and eating just fine.