TD1 Chronic Fatigue

Hey everyone! New user signing in…

I’ve had T1D for almost 20 years but have never really experienced any major complications until recently. As I’m now entering my 30s, I’ve started noticing physical issues start to come up, the most prominent being fatigue.

I exercise regularly (2-3x a week) at the local gym and try to eat as healthy as possible but over the last few months I’ve noticed excessive fatigue creeping into my everyday life. It started out as just being more “out of it after the gym” but noticed it slowly starting to effect my work, physical activity, and social life to the point where I don’t feel like I have any energy to hangout with friends or do activities with my family.

I know it can be a side effect of T1D but does anyone have tips for combating fatigue? Supplements, dietary advice, exercise routines, etc?

Thanks everyone!

Hi @jkaspr2002 and welcome to the forum.
I’m no doctor (none of us are) but here are a few thoughts off the top of my head:

• COVID has taken a toll on everyone - both mentally and physically. And even if you didn’t have it and have been taking excellent care of yourself - as it sounds like you have - sometimes stresses affect our bodies in ways we don’t expect. Also,
  • Sometimes in their efforts to eat healthy, people unknowingly omit certain things they need, and a few adjustments to diet, or supplements, can help; so in either case it might be that your body needs additional nutrients - in quantity or type - to keep you functioning the way you did before. On a related note, despite your healthy habits you may be anemic - I think that can be discerned easily via a blood test.
    Check in with your primary care doctor to see if they recommend blood work or supplements. And if you haven’t seen your nutritionist in a while it might help to have them look over your regimen to see if anything is missing.
    Wishing you all the best, and looking forward to your input on the forum!
3 Likes