T1d taking what I love

I used too be able to anything ya my BG would drop and go high. Could still do a lot and not get sick. Now I am 40 and swtihed from aspart to humilin insulin. Now I am noticing if I don’t want to be sick all the time I have to give up the things I love to do. I was a general contractor and now I can’t even build a shed without my BG going all over the place. I have realized anything that is exerting makes me feel like crap for about 3 days. Just not feel either around my eyes get puffy and turn dark and start to get bags. My skin goes very pail. Over exerting is as little as 3 appointments in one week and a grocery store visit. One appointment made me really exhausted after words mentally. Now it is 2 days later and I still don’t feel like I have recovered. I am so tired my BG has been in target and I have been sleeping. Well anymore it is sleeping I can’t remember the last time I got uninterrupted sleep. My pump or even just to have to go to the bathroom. Anyone else have to change a lot as they get older?

Hey! I’m 41 and have almost an identical story! Message me, I’ll tell you what I’ve learned works for me, being a brittle diabetic.

Duston. don’t know if this will help. been a type 1 for 66 years and Doc and I decided that if I run a higher BS (and she recommends tis for us older T1d) I feel better, no more sudden drops. Average during day is 140+ and I eat before bed to avoid Dawn Phenom. Ave at night 130-160. Doc was telling me that there are so many older t1d running into problems because they try to keep their Bs within the 99-120 range and our older bodies don’t do well in that range, too dangerous for us older ones. Last night my bs went from 111 to 87 in less that 10 minutes. But at bedtime my bs was at 136 I should have made it higher, won’t make that mistake again. Hope this helps. Bye Jan

1 Like

Hi Janice @JaniceD, good advice from another “long-timer” - you’ve got two years on me.