Starting 670g

Hey guys! This is my first time on here and I am very excited to see what everyone has to say!! Tomorrow, I am getting set up with the Medtronic 670g and the guardian sensor. I was wondering what people think about it! Also, I’ve never had a CGM, so I would like to know what people think of them!

I have been on the 670g now for the last 3 weeks and at times wished I did not go on the 670g but will give it more time before going back to my old pump. Emailed my trainer and never heard back so not to sure about the trainer. Just make sure you read the documents then reread the documents this pump has a LOT of features. good luck

What do you not like about it?

My 15 year old son has been on the 670g for almost 5 months now. We have had a few hiccups along the way but overall it has been amazing. The sensor is very accurate most of the time. In the first 8 weeks his A1c went down 1.2 points. We ha e our next 3 month check tomorrow and can’t wait to see where he is at. For us it has lessened the daily burden of type 1. He tests less and is reminded less that he has it. Good luck on starting your 670g.

1 Like

@larlarbrobar HI,

you didn’t say if this was also your first pump?

I’ve had medtronic pumps since 2005, and I have also have and used CGM. starting both for the first time may be a little overwhelming but if you like gizmos it isn’t impossible.

the 670, in manual mode, is exactly like every commercially available pump from Animas, t-slim or insulet (Omnipod)

the 670, in auto mode, is unique because it uses the CGM to modify the basal rate program, effectively making it a “closed loop” pump (blood sugar influences the basal rate). all pumps to day are feed-forward, meaning that blood sugar has zero (or minimal in the case of auto-suspend) impact on insulin delivery.

ill pause here for a moment - if you’ve never had a pump, you kind of have to learn pump terms first