Paleo Diet!

Hi everyone

I have been doing the paleo diet for about 6 months, and I am now completely off insulin.  I only get my carbs from fruit, veggies, and nuts.  I eat around 100-120 grams of carb a day, just tons of meat and greens with some fruit.  I have not needed insulin now for 5 months, and feel great! What do you guys think about this?? There is a really good book on it called "The Paleo Answer" by Loren Cordain I highly recommend it!

Thanks guys!

do you have type 2

No, I am a type 1.  Although I do believe that its is more of a mixture then people think!

On days when I fast (injesting only plain water) I still need 30u of insulin a day to keep blood sugar normalized.  Every person needs insulin to survive and process glucose in the brain.  

If you're not taking insulin then your body has to be making some.  Why did your doctor determine you're a type 1?  What was your c-peptide test?  How long ago were you diagnosed?

1 Like

I was diagnosed about a year ago...why do you fast?

Believable really. I want to try this diet but my problem is that I have got no time to cook. I have had type 1 diabetes for 2 years Now. Will paleo diet help me? My dream is to get rid of insulin, even for Just days.

Hey Helen,

Ok, this diet is magical and I am not kidding!  After to start to eat like this you will gradually use less and less insulin until you do not need any. I highly recommend you go to robbwolf.com he is an expert and on the paleo diet, on his website there is also a forum which is very interesting.  About the cooking, I cook all my meat on Sunday and the refrigerate it ( you can freeze the meat that will be for later in the week) and then all you have to do is throw some lettuce and veggies on top and some olive oil and you have a meal!

P.S I would really love to answer any question you may have!

Sending love and light, Jess

Helen-

Jess is a salesman or a type 1 who's still honeymooning.