New to the T1 diabetic world

My daughter was just diagnosed in October with T1 diabetes. Life has been a roller coaster since then. She ended up in the ER with DKA and blood sugar of 1300. We are taking it day by day as they are till learning to control her levels because she seems to remain high.
It’s been a life changing experience for everyone but I will say she is very involved and I couldn’t be more proud of how she is starting to handle things! She even started giving herself her own shot this week. She’s only 10. Just wanted to introduce myself since I’m new to all this and know there is support from others who are dealing with the same thing and bounce thoughts and ideas off of.

hi @Duncan,

there are a lot of us here, supporting either parents and caregivers or fellow t1’s. The first year is tough. You will be an expert by 18 months so do not worry about learning everything at once.

the best reference in my opinion is “Think like a pancreas” which is a cheap buy on amazon and worth it’s weight in gold. the other thing helpful is the “Calorie King” book or online database for carb counts.

Check out the JDRF for a local chapter. Got to http://www.jdrf.org/ and click on JDRF NEAR YOU at the top.

I hope you have access to a Diabetes Educator, they can be most helpful in the beginning and often have more time to support you than an endocrinologist.

I have had this for going on 38 years, and so has a bunch of us here. Please reach out if you need support.
Joe

My 7 year old daughter was diagnosed on Saturday. After several days in the ICU for DKA we were able to come home late Tuesday night. It will be one week tomorrow.

This has been an emotionally draining week for my wife and I.