New to this forum ... Mom of 17 yr old son who was diagnosed Jan 15th

Hi everyone. Today im Feeling angry , abd worried all the time… I know it will be rough for awhile but I feel like I can’t breathe most days … my son is doing very well considering everything. I’m wondering if he is ok as he seems. … I seem to be taking it harder than he is at the moment.
in front of him i try to be strong but in private I’m often in tears. I’m trying to read alot to educate myself and now im trying to connect on here with other parents so I can get some desperately needed support . Any suggestions for me Since I’m a newbie?

Hi!
I am the mom of 17 year old daughter. She was diagnosed at the age of 11 and reading your post reminded me of when she was first diagnosed. What you are experiencing is very normal. It is also a little scary in the fact that our children are teenagers. From my daughters first days of diagnosis I have lived my the words, “she is a teenager first and diabetes is 2nd”. We always make diabetes fit into her life. I could go on… Is there anything specific that I could share my experiences with???

Be assured that he IS fine. He just has diabetes now. I was diagnosed at 18 months old (I’m now 31), so I can’t offer much advice on how to get through a new diagnosis since I can’t remember mine. However, I can tell you (and your son) to hang in there and learn as you go along. Diabetes is a lot of information to take in and learn to care for yourself and you don’t have to learn everything in one day. Life will go on, and there is nothing like hands on experience to teach you how to deal with it. I like the comment above that he is a teenager first and a diabetic second. That’s how my parents treated it too (though they were both also T1D and understood that was how it needed to be). It’s a lot right now, but diabetes will eventually just flow into his every day routine. If you have specific questions let us know!