Job Application Type 1 Question

Hi everyone! I just wanted to run a question by everyone to see if anyone has any previous experience to share.
 I’ve recently been applying to jobs, since I’m now a college graduate. I have come across an application question that has stumped me though. A majority of the applications ask if you have a disability. It is a required question, and I’m unsure of the best approach. Diabetes is a disability according to the list of disabilities. I’m not surprised since my previous schools have considered my Type 1 to be a disability in relation to testing.
 Has anyone come across a similar situation in relation to their job applications?
 I put yes for having a disability on my first few applications, but now I’ve recently been putting that I prefer not to say. The applications also don’t have the option to explain your disability or select which one you have. That is understandable since clarifying your specific disability can be used for discrimination.
 Any advice or previous stories about experiences would be greatly appreciated!

Hi, @kayla-rebew! My type 1 daughter graduated in May and was seeing the same question on her applications. She decided to put “prefer not to answer.” She started her new job last week and she made her manager aware of her diabetes. Companies need to be in compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act, that’s why they ask, but unless you need specific accommodations, I personally feel folks should only disclose what they feel comfortable disclosing. Good luck with your job search!

1 Like

Hi @kayla-rebew, I understand the position in which you find yourself and I agree with what Kathleen @KathyN suggests.