Insurance getting stingy with test strips - anyone dealt with this recently?

Hi, all. I've never posted here before, but on some occasions when I've really needed to have my experiences validated, reading through this site has helped remind me that I'm not the only person in the world going through any of this. But now I'm crawling out of the woodwork, hoping for a slightly different kind of help...

I got a letter from my insurance company the other day saying that they are going to implement a "supply limit" for test strips effective January 1. They didn't even say in plain English what time period this random number of test strips would apply to. But if I'm reading correctly, it would come to about six test strips per day, whether I get a month's supply at a time or 90 days through the mail-order pharmacy. I have been testing more like ten times a day for several years, which my endocrinologist has somewhat grudgingly agreed to write prescriptions for, and I don't think I could swing paying the difference out of pocket.

Am I crazy to be testing this often? It's not like I'm asking them for extra vicodin (I wish!). A decade ago when I was diagnosed, I was told to test four times a day - is that still the party line? - but I'm at a point where I can usually figure out how to fix something that's off. I prefer to know what's happening before and a few hours after I eat, and test a few times as the night wears on to see if I'm stabilizing at a good place before bed.