Insulin Pump Options

Hi! I am new here so I’ll give some background first. I was diagnosed at 3 years old coming up on 20 years ago this Halloween! I have been on a Medtronic pump since I was 13. Currently, I am interested in looking at other options for pumps because I have graduated college and taken control of my own finances, I have found I have not been impressed with medtronics devices nor their customer service for awhile. I wanted to ask y’all have preferred using. What are your experiences with some of the new devices on the market? Tell me all of the pros and cons to help me make a decision with my endo. Thank you!!

Hi @ashlynnnoel and welcome to the forum. I had 4(?) Minimed (Medtronic) pumps before switching to Tandem’s TSLIM. I’ve been using TSLIM for about 10 years now and have never looked back. There are lots of forum discussions on the topic - including the CGM and closed loop systems for both - you’ll find lots of info on a search. Two things that people who switch from Medtronic are not crazy about are:

1. The fill process is relatively cumbersome - there’s no adapter between the insulin bottle and the cartridge so you have to draw up insulin into a syringe and fill the tube. Some insulin is wasted in the process - I don’t recall how much; and
  2. Tslim plugs in to charge - no batteries, which some users prefer. I plug in while I’m at my desk, watching TV, or even in the car - and often use a portable battery brick. Whichever I use it charges quickly - 30-45 minutes tops, and probably less.

I’ve never looked back after switching pumps, and I’m very happy with the Control IQ closed loop. I never used Medtronic’s so cannot compare but you can check out user statements for yourself and I’m sure people will chime in here as well.

1 Like