Hives and autoimmune diseases

Hi! I’m just curious if anyone else has this issue. I get hives like clockwork with fall allergies and it’s extremely frustrating. I had blood work done a few years back that showed I’m not technically allergic to anything but that I have extremely sensitive skin and that being slightly affected by pollen may be enough to start itching which for me results in hives. Yesterday I had a follow up with the allergiest and she told me that sometimes people with autoimmune diseases or thyroid issues ( I have both) are more likely to suffer from hives without a known cause and the hives might actually just be a response to an overreactive immune system. So I’m just curious if anyone else has this issue and if they ever out grew this? It’s extremely frustrating to deal with and taking double antihistamines can be exhausting but it’s what’s recommended!

Hi Taylor @Tee25, I don’t know that diabetes can be your culprit in this. At least I personally haven’t recognized this factor. You may wonder on what my observations are based.

Over the years, I’ve known many people severely affected by hives, and none of these people have had diabetes of any type. for instance, two cases: Our daughter [mid 50’s] is severely affected with hives a couple of times every year, she has critical pollen allergies, and critical [hospitalization] ant-bite reactions - yet she does not show any signs of diabetes. 2. Her daughter [mid 20’s] has severe seasonal pollen allergies, yet does not have diabetes. Both of them, according to some “critics/experts”, are in the “Diabetes high-risk” category.

Maybe someone else can observe a connection. I know it is easy to always blame diabetes, but an individual with well-managed TypeOne diabetes is no more than minimally susceptible to other conditions than the general public.