Flying w/ Medtronic 530G and CGM

Although I’m certain this question has been addressed in the past, does anyone have experience with or advice for traveling through airport security and wearing the Medtronic 530 G and CGM? I’m wondering if it is truly necessary or required to inactivate and/or remove the Sensor link and CGM?

Hello,

When I took my daughter through security with her insulin pump, we told them that she had it on and they just used the wand rather than putting her in the x-ray. We also had a note from the doctor saying the insulin pump cannot go through the x-ray machine.

Hi,
I’ve been traveling with my 530G+Enlite for two years. I’ve never unlinked my sensor during travel.

At security I tell them I’m wearing a medical device and they do a pat-down to the side. I keep the sensor on through the seating and fling process. I don’t update time zone information until the second day at my destination if it’s a long trip. For a short trip I don’t change it at all xx cass

technically you are supposed to stop the CGM transmitter and your BG meter’s transmitter once the cabin door has closed… that being said I never have.

I don’t wear my CGM all of the time. I travel quite a bit for work and so to avoid the special line and the special pat down, I let them x-ray my pump even though I don’t have to and even though Medtronic says you are not supposed to. This saves me an average of 30 minutes per security gate. =) I guess I am a “rebel”. I subjected my old pump to the x-ray scanner probably 150 times, this one (530G) has had only about 30 treatments but it is on course to break my old record. so far my pump has not malfunctioned.

Thank you All for your input. I appreciate your time in answering and your experiences help greatly:)