Airport Security

Hey guys!
I currently have the Animas Vibe insulin pump and Dexcom CGM. Does any body have experience with getting through airport security with the pump and CGM? Like have you’ve gone through the body scanner with the pump? What did you do with your Dexcom receiver? I’m really just freaking out about damaging my pump and CGM while I’m on vacation.

Thanks!
April R.

I’ve had lots of different experiences at airport security wearing a pump and CGM. Sometimes I’ve walked through without any concerns (not the total body scanner though). Most times the TSA agent ahs done an extra swab of my pump and cgm (I think to check for explosives!). It takes a few extra minutes but it was quick and easy. My receiver always went through the main scanner with my carry-on but in a small plastic container. I now use my phone for my CGM so that goes through with my luggage. I have not ever had a problem with anything not working afterwards and I’ve traveled a lot! I carry a letter from my endo and show it to the TSA agent if they ask to search my bag. I’ve never had any issues at all. Hope things go well for your trip.

Hi April @alr010,

You should not have any problems with airport security (TSA) issues when traveling with an insulin pump as long as you are “open” and don’t try to conceal - at least I haven’t. As far as an insulin pump being adversely affected, I haven’t encountered problems and I’ve been through all types of scanners; I don’t use CGM so I can’t speak to that but I suppose that the receiver will travel through security the same as a mobile phone.