Driving Frustration

Hey, everyone. I just wanted to share one of my biggest frustrations with t1d right now. I have been driving for over two years and have had diabetes for 4. I guess that I have just started to get frustrated when I have to wait to drive because my blood sugar is a little low. I know that others have said some stuff about driving with type one, but I just wanted to post this to put it out there that I am frustrated with this.
I know this is a pretty stupid thing to be frustrated about with type one. Rather, there are worse things to be concerned about. I know it is not a hard fix to bring blood sugars up to drive. It is just frustrating and I was wondering if anyone else shared my frustrations with this. I am also open to those tips and tricks people may have!!

Itā€™ll be Okay. Now that you have your CGM, you can watch the trends to see if your BGLā€™s are starting to fall like when your insulin is peaking. If youā€™re needing to drive in letā€™s say 1 hour of getting off work or going on a errand and there is a BGL trending down drink a little reg soda or juice to stabilize the situation and continue to monitor the trend as the time for you to drive approaches and adjust with more of a snack if needed. I was on steroids after back surgery once and I was advised to drive to keep function in my RT leg. The steroids were causing severe issues with BGLā€™s being erratic. After eating dinner I went on a short trip to the store. I never made it home that time.

Danielle @fieldiez very wise words. Like you, Iā€™ve had diabetes the entire time that I have been driving - my diabetes diagnosis was on my 16th birthday and I began driving the day I was released from the hospital 64 years ago. Like you, I always check my BGL before driving and while driving [the ashtray in my roadster is filled with BG Check strips] and I wear a CGM with a ā€œLow Alertā€ set at 85 mg/dl.