Diagnosis Stories

I wanted to create this post to have people tell their stories about when they were diagnosed. I know it can be hard and there aren’t always people that you can talk to about it so why not here where there are so many people who can relate. I also think that this can be therapeutic.
This is my story:
My junior year of high school I started loosing weight and felt really good physically but mentally felt so drained. I thought I was depressed for a while. I finally decided to shave my head to get a fresh start and it helped a lot and made me feel free for a few weeks then I fell into a huge slump. Now it was worse. I had been doing film for my high school basketball team since I was a freshman and went to a game one night and ate a snickers bar. When we were on our way home from the game and I got a pain in my stomach. It was a dull pain. I went to bed and could not sleep. I woke my parents up and my dad took me to the emergency room. It felt ridiculous at this point but we went. It took a few hours for me to get called back and is about 3 am. They thought I was going to have to be rushed to surgery so I was not allowed any food or water. I was so tired at this point I thought I was dying. It wasn’t until about 6 am that they finally diagnosed me as diabetic. Then about 10 am I was transferred into the ICU and went to diabetic bootcamp and learned more in 4 days than I have in my entire life.
Share your stories!! even if its just for you to read and type for yourself do it!

6 Likes

Thank you Samantha @Yellowbailey17 , for sharing your story - and welcome back to the Forum, haven’t seen you in a while.