Dexcom Signal Loss

Hey guys! We are giving the Dexcom another try but keep getting a signal loss message even when the receiver is sitting right next to him. Does he NEED a cell phone or can the receiver work on its own? We put in a new sensor and are still having the same problem. HELP!!! Thanks. :blush:

Lucy @lucyinthesky827, I will assume that you / he Is using a Dexcom Receiver and G6 sensor. I’m also assuming that you are Getting the message “No Signal” and not the “missed readings”; two similar, but very different conditions.

A phone is NOT required - I’ve been using the Dexcom devices for a couple of years and only recently got a phone that can communicate. Here are a couple of things you can check - these in addition to calling Dexcom:

• The Receiver is charged, and the Transmitter battery has not expired. Also look to see that the “wireless symbol” on the Receiver is glowing.
  • That the Transmitter serial number has been entered correctly into the Receiver.
  • That the Receiver “face” is not pressed against his body. I sometimes get “signal loss” while sleeping if my forearm has been resting on top of a sensor implanted on my abdomen.
1 Like

I used Dexcom’s receiver in the past but now use my pump for that function - both worked quite well, and if I switch to shots I charge up my receiver to use again.
My understanding is you can use one at a time - pump or receiver - but not both, so if you are trying to use both together. that’s probably the problem. However, as I also understand it, you can share your data with a cell phone but that’s a separate thing. Maybe the best way to describe it is, Dexcom’s receiver or the pump serve as primary receivers - only one of which will work at a time; whereas “following” someone with a cell phone is secondary, and can be used with either the primary pump or Dexcom receiver.