Dexcom G4, itchy problem

I have been using a Dexcom G4 for about a year or so and while I love it, I have been having an ongoing issue with the insertion part of it in my skin, itching and hurting. I know its definitely not the tape because when I move at night the only time it hurts or itches, only if the transmitter gets some movement. At night is when I really notice it the most. It actually wakes me up if I hit it wrong. The other day my son pulled on it and I almost started crying because it felt like I was getting stabbed.

Does anyone else have an issue like this? Is it possible I am allergic to that little metal looking piece under the skin?

I don’t know if this will help but I hope so. I have been using the Dexcom G4 and the predecessor for about 2 years prior to switching to Enlite/523 just 3 days ago. I have not had a pain like u described with the Dexcom sites but definitely strong itching at the site from time to time.

If the tape is not bothering you, then is the sensor site (thru the skin) red at all when u remove the sensor? I suspect that it is. If so then it might simply be a local infection/tenderness right at the insertion spot. If that is the case then using some IV prep before inserting the sensor helps me. For years I have used the Smith And Nephew I.V. Prep Wipes - 50/box and I recently bought for $6.35 for the box. After removing the sensor I treated my sites with a triple antibiotic ointment.

I would be surprised if it is an allergic reaction. But I have no experience in that area at all. I really hope this helps.

hi @john1714,

It is pretty red after I take it out, and still itchy!! More itchy than when it’s in! I will try the IV prep again, I think I still have some. I always forget about it!

Hey Gina,
BTW - how do u put in the link to a person like u do??