Deeling with

the emotions with HIGHS. How do you go about it parents? Right now Riley is I think 317 and WOW I asked her to clean her room so I wont die coming to check her at 2 a.m. She is flipping out not normal for her a few months back. She might tell me no and pout but not flip out like I took all her stuff away or cry like I am beating her with a stick. Oi I realize it comes with the highs but at the same time I do not want her to think its ok for her to talk to me the way she does or be so disrespectful yet I want to give her the understanding that her emotions and reactions are driven by this high she is on. So how do I balance this?

dealing not deeling lol

I'm not a parent, but I have had a lot of experience with mood swings from high levels. My mom and brother have both gotten fed up with these moods (as have I). I don't believe in "telling" people what to do- so this is simply what I have found works for me. When I am moody, I tell my family that I need to be left alone (in a forced calm voice) and that I will reconnect with them when I am feeling better. It helps avoid a lot of conflict and they are now aware that leaving me alone for those moments is essential.Then, I go on a walk to calm myself down. Talk to your daughter about taking time to herself when she is angry to calm down on her own to avoid saying something disrespectful. She is young, and learning about how to handle her emotions will take time (as it does for everyone, whether she is dealing with high blood sugars or just a frustrating day). All you can do is help her find a non-destructive way to cope with these moods. (drawing, walking, lying down- whatever works for her) Its about identifying the mood and having a default activity to go to. Mine is walking. For me, when I realize that I am falling into a mood (usually because of high bs) I walk. It works. Coping strategies are different for everyone- the best you can do is help your daughter find hers.