Can't decide, Animas vs. Minimed

I have used the Minimed Paradigm for the last 8 years. My warranty is up and I thought that I would go with the Animas...hearing somewhere that they are the closest to the closed loop system with Dexcom. I don't know if that is accurate, but in researching the Animas pump, I liked the waterproof feature. I received a call today from the minimed rep. who said that if the pump is dropped even once, microscopic cracks will develop in the casing and make it no longer waterproof, and strongly discouraged me from believing that it would be ok to swim with...even once. Also, the fact it does not have an 'Esc' button was a huge point the rep presented, that I would hate it b/c of this. Just wondering if anyone could help me with this decision? Any HUGE pros/cons for either pump would be appreciated!

Hey There,

I've been pinging it for 2 years now, it is my first pump.   My pump has been smacked hard with a baseball, bumped into numerous walls, and once while in the pool smashed against the concrete side of the pool and no problems.  The baseball incident happend two weeks after I got it and I thought it would have died on the spot, but nothing was wrong at all.  It actually saved me from taking a direct hit from the ball.  I want to be nice here, but I believe the rep may have been trying to scare you a bit.  Why can't he just be honest about the great features of their product and leave it at that?  Animas customer service has always been impresive as well. 

I can't speak about the esc button but I hope this was helpful

Jason