Being diagnosed while in college

has anyone on here been diagnosed while in college? Im in my third year when this all happened, just wanted to hear some other stories.

Hi Sara...I was a sophomore in college when I was diagnosed. That was 19 years ago :-). I thought I had the flu after Christmas break and just couldn't get better. I was tired all the time....all the classic symptoms (drinking a lot, peeing a lot, blurry vision), and I lost 20 pounds in 3 weeks. I was actually happy when I got the diagnosis, just relieved to know what was wrong with me and I wasn't dying. My friends were all really supportive. Let me know if you have any specific questions.

I was diagnosed the week before Thanksgiving my freshman year. I was going home every weekend to work, and that Saturday morning, my Mom, a type 1 diabetic, woke me up and asked me if I drank all the milk and tea and juice the night before. That semester, I was taking two PE classes and didn't realize the thirst and yeast infections (I'd never had one before and knew something was wrong, but diabetes didn't occur to me once) were connected. I felt great, was sleeping well, and thought I was being healthy. At the time, I only drank juice or tea (hot, black or unsweetened iced, a trait inherited from my "Yankee" dad), rarely a soda or anything else.