Attempting first pregnancy! Brittle diabetic

Hi, I am new to this.....my husband and I have been married about a year and a half and are discussing becoming pregnant. I have been a brittle diabetic and have only been in the 7s (A1C) a few times the whole time I have been diabetic. I have been doing extremely well at handling my BG levels lately and was wondering where others have been when they conceived? I have read a lot of people being in the 6, but that makes me nervous. I usually run high, but like I said have been doing really well.....my goal is to be low 7s.

opinions? advice? anything is greatly appreciated!! I am very happy my husband introduced me to this site!

HGing,

I am glad you joined us and if you need anything please let me know!

I was actually 8.9 at conception but, quickly got it down to 7.2 in two months, and by month 3 I was 6.1 and I ran in the 6's the entire pregnancy. Now having said that, no way do I recommend that you start trying with an 8.9 A1c. I was paranoid until my blood came down into baby range.

If you want to get your numbers down I suggest you talk to your doctor and CDE on a weekly basis to help you make any adjustments you need. That is what helped me get it down so fast. Had I done that before I think I wouldnt have been an 8.9 before but, I have no regrets because my pregnancy was complication free and I had a fat little healthy baby boy on November 5, 2012!

Hi, welcome! I saw this, and wanted to chime in that whatever has happened in the past will be nothing like your BG's during pregnancy. So, even if it's been tough in the past, doesn't mean you can't do it during pregnancy. I found with increased monitoring (by myself and doctors) and increased motivation, my BG's were actually more stable than usual except during the 1st trimester. I was 6.5 (I think, can't remember) when conceived, but 5's during pregnancy. Good luck!! It's sounds like you're on the right track!