Applying to college

Hi I am a senior in High school and am beginning the College App crap :D Is there anyone else on here doing the same? Or anyone who has already gone through the process that would like to share any advice? I'm also curious when and how you brought up the fact that you have diabetes. Did you put it in your application or write about it in your essay? Thanks!

I'm a freshman in college and for most of my essays I had to write about a personal experience that changed my life or something along those lines so I talked about being diagnosed.  The one thing I do suggest is that if you plan on living in a dorm on campus with a roommate you tell your roommate before hand and explain to them either before or when you meet them about what to do in case of an emergency and tell them how you test your blood sugar and all that other stuff so that they know.  As for telling other people that's up to you when and if you do.  If you decide to chances are they probably already know someone who has diabetes or if not it's a good chance for you to tell them all about it.  Good luck and if you have anymore questions about being in college with diabetes let me know and I'll try to help!

Laura,

When I was applying to college oh so long ago, I never really mentioned my diabetes to anyone or on my application or anything like that. I was still in denial so I decided to keep it secret. Once I got to college I started to be a little better about letting people know, more for my own well being than anything else. I was really not keen on having a clueless roommate thinking I passed out due to drinking (mind you I did not drink, but he did and we were in two completely different social circles and who knows what the kid thought. Side note we lasted 4 months together before I ran out on him). It is good for people to know, especially ones roommate, again looking back I realize how stupid I was in not telling my first roommate.