Apple Watch for Dexcom. Need advice

My son is 14 years old and has the Dexcom. He does not want to take his phone out all the time in High School to check his BG. His Doctor suggested that he get the Apple Watch, that way he can check and feel the alerts if they are on vibrate. Does anyone have the apple watch for this and does your phone need to be in range if you do not get the data plan with the watch.

Any advise would be great.

Thanks.

I use the Apple Watch to monitor my son’s BG while I’m at work. I love it. A quick raise of the wrist and I can see his number and glucose curve. The phone does need to be in range, but if he is using a Dexcom G5 with his phone, he’s got his phone with him anyways (like most teenagers!). The watch needs to be in range of whatever phone it’s paired with (unless you get the newest Apple Watch that uses cellular network - I have no experience with that one - but I can see my son’s Dexcom info on my watch even when we are apart because he allows me to follow him via Dexcom Share app. So he’s at school and I can follow his numbers from work, etc. Hope this helps. Best of luck to you!

This does help. Thank you. I think I am going to get him the Apple Watch for hi to wear.
Thank you for the advice.

Just for the record, the cellular capability won’t help anything in this case – so you can save money on your son’s watch without it. The Dexcom sensor communicates with the phone which updates the watch (and the cloud if sharing is enabled).

Interestingly, though, having cellular would benefit someone who is shared with. You could still get BG updates if you were away from your phone.

That is good to know. Thank you for the information.

This helps alot

Sharon Baronian

Coldwell Banker Pascack Valley

Hillsdale, NJ 07642

Cell: 201-417-3480

http://www.sharonbaronian.com/ www.sharonbaronian.com