A feedback on a developing portable A1c measuring system?

Hello everyone! :wave:
I am a biomedical engineering student currently working with the company Dianax S.r.l. (www.dianax.eu) to develop a handheld, portable system to measure the value of HbA1c.

We want to develop a smart and useful system that can help the management of your pathology, by measuring the A1c value from a single drop of blood, in complete autonomy and everywhere you want. For doing so, we think that your opinion is really important from the very beginning of the design of this instrument.

I am here to ask your thoughts and feedbacks about our developing system. I am proposing you a fast (2-4 minutes max.) and completely anonymous online survey: Dianax HbA1c testing system

Feel free to ask me anything and I hope you can see the innovation of this approach, as I do :slight_smile:

PS: I hope this is the right place to post and discuss it! Sorry If I chose the wrong one, I am new here :sweat_smile:

Gea
gea.bianchi@dianax.eu

@gea_dianax hi Gea

since the current thinking is that glycosylated hemoglobin doesn’t change very quickly, what would be the point of an instant reading or a reading that you would would need to take more often than 1x every 60 days?

The way I understand it, is that blood cells are imprinted with an average blood glucose over the life span of a blood cell. That’s why the a1c, or HbA1c or glycosylated hemoglobin test can be a good measure of “average” blood sugar over what is typically considered a 90 day period. It’s 90 days because a weighted average of blood cell death and removal.

The test is not as useful as people sometime think. Because an a1c is the same number (~5.6% )if you average say 120 mg/dl… but you can average 120 mg/dl and still have daily extremes and lows. the following sets have the same average {40,200,36,204} and {110,130,90,150} there is data that suggests that swings can also contribute to complications.