42 years old, diagnosis confirmed today

Hello Everyone--

I am new to juvenation, new to diabetes, and diagnosed with T1 officially as of today. after going to the dr office for a physical, my bs came back at 312 and then A1c at 12.1, today got back my GAD's and confirmed T1. I am on glemepride and metaformin, but will transition to insulin, next week.  I am 42, have always been healthy, except for gallbladder surgery in 1990, I have a wonderful husband and 5 year old daughter, went to doctor to get caught up on physical really hoping to have a baby...with this news, I am just utterly dumbfounded and shocked.....my labs showed still making a small amount of insulin...I am thankful this website exists, but not sure exactly where to start...this just feels like a lot right now....

Peace.

Hello trciaa,  It will all be overwhelming for the next 4-6 months.  Be sure to lean on your family and friends, it will be easy to get depressed.

You are fortunate to have a doctor that  understands the condition, the insulin should help your beta cells last/perform longer.  

Do your best to reduce your carbs and find an excercise that you can enjoy, it really helps.  When I get 30 plus minutes of excercise my bloodsugar numbers are excellent.

Please do not hesitate to ask questons, there will be alot o learn for you this year.  I started my T1 diabetes journey just after the new year this last January and will be cellebrating my one year anniversary on January 6th two days after my 15th wedding anniversary.  My first A1C was 10.7 my latest was 5.8,  I am not taking any meds anymore and my Endo has not seen it neccassary to start me on Insulin, wish he was more up to speed on T1.

Michael Parr

By the way my wife's name is Licia.