15 Gram Snack Ideas For 2 Year Old

My son was diagnosed a month ago with T1D. he is 22 months old. We were told that in between meals he should have a snack no more than 15g carbs. We were told that string cheese, lunch meats cheese/crackers are good for these snacks. What are some other good snack idea that may not have a lot of “processed foods” that would appeal to a toddler?

This is just one of the many questions I have, but any ideas will be greatly appreciated

Ok one more question…I also have an almost 4 year old daughter who knows what’s going on and often says “he can’t have that he has Diabetes!” Now, while I’m glad she’s aware there’s always times where she will suffer (not getting ice cream, or my famous after work treats I USED to bring home) are “treats” completely banned for my T1D son? Or is it moderately ok as long as it’s done relative to what his bs and carbs consumption is?
Thanks in advance! I’m new to this!

Hi @treezee,

I certainly feel for you, you will have lots of learning ahead of you and we will be here for you to answer your many questions and also be here when you need to just vent - and let me say it for you, "life isn’t fair?

A handy snack? a handful of Cheerios [sure, measure at first, and occasionally as time passes, just to make sure of the amount and carb count] and also vegetables such a lima beans. I’m far removed from parenting young children so maybe others will help you here.

I’ll have a little chat with your daughter [smiling :slight_smile: ] but certainly your son can have and enjoy almost any food that she eats, and as you said ‘it just has to fit in’. Really, mothing is completely banned. You will learn as you go along how to “fit in” foods that myths say are banned - moderation, blood level checking as often as advisable [and possible] for a toddler, creativity with all foods and balancing insulin to carb intake.

We are here for you,
Dennis