Unexpectedly pregnant and very nervous

Hi everyone! I just joined this group so this is my first time posting. This is my first pregnancy, and I just looking for some help/support from some moms who have been through or are going through the same thing. I’ve had T1D since I was 8 years old, but for the past few years due to stress and several life changes I haven’t been controlling my diabetes like I should have. This past year I’ve been trying to do better with it, and last month I started really cracking down on it because my husband and I decided we were finally ready to become parents. I planned on getting my blood sugars as controlled as possible for at least a year before we start trying though.

Of course nothing goes according to plan right. Even though I have been on consistent birth control, I believe that I am now pregnant. I haven’t had a positive pregnancy test yet, but I believe that is because it is still too early in my pregnancy because I have completely missed my period this month and there is no other plausible explanation for that. I’m very excited to be a mom, but I am terrified of what complications I and my baby might face because I didn’t have my blood sugars under control beforehand. Ever since I suspected I was pregnant I have been watching my blood sugar like a hawk and it has been really good so far. I’ve done all the research on the risks that can develop in pregnancy with T1D so I know what can happen. I was hoping to be able to find some moms who have been through a similar unexpected pregnancies and can give me some advice on what to expect and how to handle it.