Type1 for 19 years and struggling

Hello Everyone! I’m extremely new to T1D forums but not necessarily to type 1…I’m currently about to turn 22 and was diagnosed when I was 3 years old, going on my 19th year with diabetes. I have struggled a very long time and as I’ve gotten older the addition of chronic anxiety and depression has only made this fight a lot harder. I guess you could define me as “non compliant” (my therapist and I aren’t fans of the word). My entire life I have gone through a cyclical pattern of not taking care of myself (not checking Bg, not bolusing, lying about Bg) and then having a major breakdown and trying to get myself back in line. I have only had a A1C below 7 once in my entire 19 yrs and right now I am scared I might be at the highest it has ever been in light of struggling through COVID. I do not have a great relationship with my Endo and our appointments last 15 min. I feel like I am being churned out and given up on when I try to explain the mental exhaustion I go through every time I even try to check my Bg. I am terrified to go to the Endo and it has been a few days since I have checked my Bg(sometimes I blindly put in a Bg and carbs into my pump just to have insulin on board). Tomorrow I plan on putting on my CGM but the need for calibration and checking Bgs always sends me into a spiral. I feel very alone and as my senior year in college is about to start I’m really scared I won’t be able to take care of myself. I feel like I see other T1D veterans or people my age and no one ever talks about non compliance or wanting to give up. If anyone sees this and could give me any words of advice I would greatly appreciate it. So sorry for the long post, it seems like the tip of the iceberg for me!

Hi @als8941 and thank you for writing in. I too was 3 when I was diagnosed - I’m a late baby boomer now so I hope I don’t sound like your mom (or - gulp) grandma.