Tonsillectomy

My 20 year old son is having his tonsils removed in a few days. Any advice for managing his blood sugars (he’s on a pump) as well as his pain?

Hi Kelley @40kelleya, first let me extend a warm Welcome to the TypeOneNation forum!

I am not a medical provider so any comments I offer are based solely on what I have learned and experienced during my more than 60 years living with diabetes. In recent years, I have had several surgeries requiring total anesthesia. My first suggestion, and this is important, is that your son speak with both the surgeon and anesthesiologist before surgery and he will tell them, insist, that he will manage his insulin and wear his pump during surgery. Many hospitals / surgery centers tell people with diabetes NOT to take any “diabetes medicines” on the day of surgery - that directive may [or may not] be proper for persons with “lifestyle diabetes” but it most definitely is not proper for autoimmune [TypeOne] diabetes. The two hospitals and surgery center in my area have now modified their procedures for us with TypeOne.

You mention that your son uses a pump but you didn’t comment on how well he has managed his diabetes. I will assume that your son will need to refrain from all food and drink on the day of his tonsillectomy and that he has managed his diabetes appropriately and understands his pump - all pumps have the features I will reference.

• On the day before and on the day of his procedure, he must monitor his glucose levels several times and record trends;
  • He should use either a pump pattern/profile or a temporary basal of less than 100% for the day of procedure;
  • His BGL [Body Glucose Level] should be slightly elevated, but not too high, in the hours leading up to the procedure - I aim for 140 - 150 mg/dl.
  • During the prep, he and/or the techs/nurses should check his BG a couple of tines - take additional insulin, but not too much, if he begins to rise;