Survey on Insulin Pumps

Hi All,

I am a master’s student in the Georgia Tech Industrial Design program (Also a T1 Diabetic). I am currently conducting research on the design and usability of insulin pumps.

If you have used a pump, and have a few minutes to take this survey, I’d really appreciate your input!

Anonymous Survey Link:

https://gatech.co1.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_86ScDiBgaLdLgvr

Thanks!

• Andy Harper

Hi @AndyH Andy. Welcome to TypeOneNation. I’m a mechanical engineer and machine designer for 31 years now. Hope you like the forum.

1 Like

Thanks, @joe ! That’s really cool. I hope to work with (and learn from) some guys like yourself in the near future. I’m sure I’ll have a lot to learn, as well:)

@AndyH Welcome Andy to the JDRF TypeOneNation Forum!

I found your survey to be well constructed and simple to complete - you didn’t have any possible responses that should also have had a “none of these”. I do hope that you receive sufficient response to make your survey relative.

One additional “pump design” shortfall I hear is from females; without pockets, belts, waist-bands, etc., some women have difficulty attaching and/or accessing a pump without practically disrobing. Added to that, some women, not Teresa May, are dressed for a ball, they do not want any diabetes devices visible or causing an additional lump.

1 Like

Thanks for the positive feedback, Dennis! I’m very glad to be here.

I also agree that women really face greater challenges when it comes to wearing insulin pumps. Wearability issues could be one of the more meaningful directions that my research takes, if data insights can point me there. So far, I’m grateful for some very honest comments on a range of important issues. I look forward to sharing my work!

Hi @AndyH. I just completed your survey - it was short and sweet, as described. Thanks for doing this, and I wish you well with your study, your studies in general, and your career and overall future. Take care.

1 Like