Struggling to Ensure that You Only Strengthen Me

Married to Diabetes since 06/13/17
While I was learning about the intricacies of the pancreas as a first-year medical student, my pancreatic beta cells were being destroyed
This destruction has led me to develop a new relationship with the word Diabetes
Instead of reading about it
Or getting frustrated with the thought of treating a “non-compliant” diabetic
Diabetes and I
Are now one

I have a
Till death do us part relationship with you now
You will be with me through the good times and the bad
And I will have to make compromises for you
This union is nowhere close to sweet

I cried when I first met you
Because I thought I would never have you
You don’t deserve me
Now that I’m stuck with you
I have no choice but to make it work

Four site changes a week, three insulin pump fills a week
Foot exam and eye exam-- every year
Carb count and bolus nearly every meal
Watch out for hypoglycemia!
You want to work out, decrease your basal
Always have a sugary snack
Always have a glucometer handy and
Make sure there are test strips in there
Have back-up infusion sets in case things get frisky :wink:
As much as I prepare, nothing about this relationship is predictable
A low will always catch me after I realize I used my emergency orange juice last week
A spontaneous date night turns into a high I keep giving corrective boluses to undo

Until one has a relationship they did not choose dictate everything they do, they will never understand
My optimism, my jokes will never change the fact that I feel out of control
Beta cells continue to die, insulin demands increase
And well, I am trying to catch up but you change so fast
Though we are now one, I am struggling to ensure that you only strengthen me

3 Likes

There really is only one outcome, you will become stronger, more resilient, more empathetic, and more blessed than you ever would have been without it. Some days you won’t see it, but the other days you will be grateful for it