Share your thoughts - Gift us with knowledge

I glean through the posts on these forums all the time and I find so much good humor, strength and good advice. I can also empathize with most all of what I read. It's a comforting feeling, to be sure, but a sad one nonetheless. And it got me to thinking, what do other "old timers" with diabetes think? (as in those who have lived with the disease over 25 years or so). What would they tell a new generation of T1 children, adults, and parents to somehow make the journey easier, if not at least a little clearer? I would love to read some of their wisdom and reflections here, if the mood strikes.  As for me...

I've been T1 since I was 10. I'm 44 now. (You can do the math. It's too depressing when I do it :P 

Despite having it for so long, I still often feel like I'm a novice to the disease, and I'm not sure why that is. Maybe it's because there's so still much being discovered about it and at such a rapid rate. Just when I think I've got my head wrapped around the whole self care routine, something comes along and changes my understanding of the best way to care for myself. I don't stop learning, though. I wouldn't be here at all without actively participating in learning the new discoveries, diagnostics and treatments developed for me over the last 30 years.

I'm not trying to scare anyone, but instead emphasize the absolute miracle of knowledge and that we, as people with diabetes, owe it to ourselves and the people we love to know as much about our "condition" as possible. By educating ourselves, we create our own miracles, and we can survive what used to be insurmountable adversities.