School and diabetes

im starting high school, going to a new school with a lot of new kids and im usually uncomfortable telling people that i have diabetes because i don't know how they will react. as in treating me different or thinking im wierd . got any tips on how i could be comfortable telling other people ?

hey dont feel uncomfotable with it

Just think of famus celebs wh oave it  and let me know if u want a list i could give you a list

its just your different and thats all if they are goona think you are wierd than et them, b/c diaetes makes u more responsible

and if YOU are uncomfortable, with it just talk to your teacher abpout it.

and if ur a teen feel free to add me

yeah i know exactly how you feel I was a freshman last year and i was going to a completely new school and I only knew a couple other people who were going to the same school. It seems overwhelming...but i know from experience that its really not bad at all. If I met someone new, I didn't just come right out and tell them I was diabetic. (I figured it would be kinda awkward) So if something came up where i had to check my blood or have a snack or something then I told them that I was diabetic and in my experience it really wasn't a big deal. And if for some reason someone you meet does have a problem with it...well, in that case is that someone you really want to spend time with? Probably not. So just focus on having fun and meeting new people! The rest always seems to work itself out.

If you haven't met with the nurse yet I would definitly suggest doing that. It makes it so much easier when the nurse knows what you normally do in all the situations that might come up. I met with my highschool nurse on registration day and we agreed on procedures and stuff and evrything turned out just the way I wanted. My nurse is really nice and she lets me be independent which is really important to me.